CALIFORNIA STATE REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE (9409)(a)(6)
MBIE Complies With California's Training Requirements
"The State of California requires completion of 600 clock-hours of practical and technical instruction in a State Approved Program prior to passing a State Board Examination."
The exam consists of both a practical and a written portion which must be passed in order to be granted licensure.
The Board shall admit any candidate who has made proper application to the Board, paid the fee required and is qualified as follows:
- 17 years of age
- Completion of the 12th grade from an accredited high school course of study or its equivalent (GED certificate)
- Completed a 600-hour course in electrology from an approved school
- A Social Security Number is required to take the Electrology exam
- Passing of the California State or National Interstate Council (NIC) Written and Practical examinations with an aggregate (combined) score of 75% or above
- The candidate must not have committed a misdemeanor or felony constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the California Barbering and Cosmetology Act Business and Professions Code